Loading the new Help Center

Create a restricted project in Todoist

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Every once in a while you may want to keep things a bit private. Maybe you have a monthly 1-on-1 with your manager or you want a place to work on sensitive information with your team.

Either way you can get yourself a bit of privacy by creating a restricted project in your team!

Here's how:

You can only create restricted projects in a team and not in your personal projects (these are private by default and can only be viewed by users you have manually shared them with).

Create a restricted project

  1. In the sidebar, find the team where you want to create the restricted project.
  2. Click the plus icon beside the team name.
  3. Select Add project.
  4. Enter a project name and select a project color.
  5. In the Access menu, select Restricted.
  6. Click Add to create the restricted project.
  1. In the navigation, find the team where you want to create the restricted project.
  2. Tap the plus sign next to the team name.
  3. Enter a project name and select a project color.
  4. Tap Access.
  5. Select Restricted to create a restricted project.
  6. Tap Done in the top-right corner.
  1. In the navigation, find the team where you want to create the restricted project.
  2. Tap the plus sign next to the team name.
  3. Enter a project name and select a project color.
  4. Tap Access.
  5. Select Restricted to create a restricted project.
  6. Once you have selected all the settings you want for your new project, tap the checkmark icon in the top-right.

Add a person to a restricted project

After creating a restricted project, follow these steps to add a person to the project:

  1. Open the restricted project.
  2. Click Share in the top of your project view.
  3. Type in the name or email address of the person you want to share with.
  4. Click Invite to send the invitation(s).
  1. Open the restricted project you want to share.
  2. Tap the three dots icon in the top-right side.
  3. Tap Share. A list of people in the project will appear. If the project isn't shared, you'll see two options:
    • Share Link lets you copy an invitation link for someone to join the project.
    • + Invite Members lets you invite someone to your project by adding their name or email address.

When you tap + Invite Members, there are two options:

  • Enter the person's name or email address in the To: field. Then, tap their email address to confirm. 
  • Tap the red plus icon to invite a person from your Contacts list.
  1. Open the restricted project you want to share.
  2. Tap the share icon. A list of people will appear.
  3. Tap the person icon in the top-right again.
  4. Enter the name or email address of the person to share the project with.
Check out the articles below to learn more about teams: