Loading the new Help Center

Delete a project

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Get rid of old projects and keep your project list nice and tidy. Here's how:

You won't be able to delete a project if it has been shared. Instead, you'll have the option to Leave the project.
  1. Hover over the project you want to delete and click on the three dots icon that appears to the right.
  2. Select Delete project from the drop-down menu.
  3. In the pop-up window, click Delete to confirm.
    1. Swipe the project you want to delete from right to left.
    2. Tap the trash can icon.
    3. In the pop-up window, tap Delete project to confirm.
If your iOS device is using version iOS 13 or above, you can also delete a project through its context menu.
  1. Swipe up the bottom app bar to open the menu. 
  2. At the bottom of your project list, tap Manage projects.
  3. Tap the project you want to delete.
  4. In the top-right corner, tap the three dots icon.
  5. From the drop-down menu, select Delete.
  6. Confirm that you wish to delete the project.
You may want to archive a project instead. Archiving a project removes it from your project list, but you can always view and restore it later. Just follow all the same steps as above, but select Archive rather than delete.

FAQ

Can I restore a deleted project?

The only way you can recover a deleted project is by importing a backup. If you use Pro plan or Business plan, Todoist automatically backs up your data every day that you login to Todoist. Your backups correspond to the last 21 days and you can store up to 21 backups on your account.