Once you’ve created your team, you can upgrade it to Business to unlock increased limits and additional features. If your team hasn’t tried Business yet, you can start with a 14-day free trial.
Supported payment methods
Use any of the supported payment cards to pay for a Todoist Business subscription:
- American Express
- China UnionPay (CUP)
- Discover & Diners Club
- eftpos Australia
- Japan Credit Bureau (JCB)
- Mastercard
- Visa
Purchase orders aren't supported at the moment.
Start a Business trial
Want to try Todoist Business with your team first? A Business trial gives you 14 days to try all the Business features for free. Check out the full list of features on the pricing page.
Start your trial
- Log in to Todoist at https://todoist.com. If you don't have an account yet, sign up and create a Todoist team.
- Click your team name in the sidebar.
- Click the gear icon at the top-right.
- Select the Subscription tab. If you see Upgrade instead of Start for free, your team can’t start a trial. Follow the steps in Upgrade a team to Business instead.
- Click Start for free. You'll see a list of benefits for your team.
- Click Start your free trial.
- Select your preferred billing cycle and currency.
- Click Get your free trial.
- Enter your payment information to start the trial.
A team workspace can only go through one Business trial. Once the trial ends, you won't be able to start another one for that team workspace.
You can create a second team workspace while your first team is on the Business trial. If you've created two or more Todoist team workspaces, each team can start its own trial.
Cancel your trial
If you no longer wish to continue using Todoist Business, here's how to cancel the trial:
- Click your team name in the sidebar.
- Click Settings at the top-right.
- Select the Subscription tab below your team name.
- Click Cancel trial. You'll see how many trial days you have left.
- Click Continue cancelling.
- Select the main reason for canceling the trial from the menu.
- Provide more details about your reason for canceling your trial.
- Click Continue to billing portal. A new page will load.
- Click Cancel subscription. You'll see your plan type and the end of the billing period.
- Click Cancel subscription to confirm.
If you cancel your Business plan before the trial is over, your team workspace will stay on the Business trial until the trial period ends.
Renew your trial
Thinking of giving Todoist Business another try? So long as you're within the 14-day trial period, you can renew your trial right away:
- Click your team name in the sidebar.
- Click Settings at the top-right.
- Select the Subscription tab.
- Click Renew trial. This opens a new window in your browser.
- Click Renew subscription. You'll see your plan type and the end of the billing period.
- Click Renew subscription to confirm.
Questions about Business trials
What happens to my Pro plan if I decide to set up a Business trial?
Your remaining Pro time is handled the same way as when you upgrade to Business. Learn more in For existing Pro customers.
Upgrade a team to Business
When you upgrade a team to the Business plan, each team member will automatically have access to Pro features in their personal projects. Here's how to upgrade a team:
- Log in to Todoist at https://todoist.com.
- Click your avatar at the top-left.
- Select Settings.
- Find your Todoist team name.
- Select Subscription tab to upgrade the plan.
- Click Upgrade.
- Select your preferred billing cycle and currency.
- Click Continue to checkout.
- Enter your payment details to start your subscription.
Receipts aren't automatically sent to the team admin when the payment is successful. Access receipts at any time through the team billing settings.
For existing Pro customers
When you upgrade to Todoist Business within 30 days of purchasing Todoist Pro, you’re eligible for a full refund.
When you upgrade to Todoist Business, beyond the 30-day refund period, any remaining time on your Pro subscription is converted into credit in our system, regardless of whether you purchased Todoist Pro through direct billing (Stripe), the App Store, or Google Play. This credit can only be used to pay for future Todoist Pro subscriptions via our website; it can’t be used for your Business subscription.
If you’d prefer a partial refund instead of credit, the available option depends on how you originally paid for Todoist Pro:
- For payments made through direct billing (Stripe) or Google Play, you can request a partial refund for the remaining time on your Pro subscription.
- For payments made through the App Store, where we can’t issue a refund, we transfer the remaining time to your account as credit instead.
Add people to the team
Team admins can manage team billing, and add members or guests to the team between billing cycles. Your team will be billed based on the number of members in the billing cycle, and all members will be billed on a single invoice. Guests are free of charge and won’t appear on the invoice.
Here’s how this will be handled in the invoice:
Monthly billing
If you’re on monthly billing, and you’re adding new members to your team in the middle of the cycle, your next monthly invoice will include their subscription for the month ahead and the charges based on the time they belonged to the team during the previous month.
Here’s an example:
Your monthly subscription starts on January 1, 2024. You’ve added Caroline to your team on January 14th.
On February 1st, you’ll be charged for the month ahead for you and Caroline, and for Caroline’s time on the team from January 14th until January 31st.
Yearly billing
If you’re on yearly billing, and you’re adding new members to your team in the middle of the cycle, you’ll receive an invoice during the following month based on your original purchase date. Your invoice will include the amount due for each new member for the remainder of their yearly subscription, as well as charges based on the amount of time they belonged to the team during the previous yearly billing period.
Here’s an example:
Your yearly subscription started on January 1, 2024. You’ve added Diane to your team on February 20th.
On March 1st, you’ll be charged for Diane’s subscription from February 20th to January 1st, 2025.
Remove people from the team
Team admins alone can manage team billing, and remove people from the team between billing cycles.
If you remove one of your team members, you’ll only be charged for the time they belonged to the team. The equivalent of the time the removed member was no longer part of the team will be credited back to you and will be immediately deducted from the amount due on your next monthly or yearly invoice.
Get in touch
If you’re having trouble with your Business subscription or trial, get in touch with us.