Loading the new Help Center

Sharing projects and collaborating

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Todoist makes it easy to collaborate with anyone – share projects, assign tasks, and discuss details with coworkers or loved ones. You’ll be notified whenever important changes happen in your shared projects.

Once you invite someone to a project, you’ll be able to assign them tasks and send them comments.

How to share projects

  1. Right click on the project you want to share.
  2. Select Share project from the menu.
  3. Type in the name of the person you want to share with. If it’s someone you’ve never shared a project with before, you’ll need to type in the email associated with their Todoist account. If they don’t have a Todoist account, just type in their email address. They’ll receive a project invite email with the option to set up a free account in seconds.
  4. Click Invite to send the invitation(s).
sharing-web-sharing.jpg
  1. Tap to open the project you want to share.
  2. Tap the three dots icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Select Share Project. A list of all current project collaborators will appear. If the project isn't currently shared, you will instead see the option Invite people to project.
  4. Tap the + symbol in the top-right corner to add new collaborators.
  5. You can now add a new collaborator either by selecting Add from Project or Add from Contacts or by typing the name of the person you want to share with. If it’s someone you’ve never shared a project with before, you’ll need to add the email associated with their Todoist account. If they don’t have a Todoist account, just type in their email address. They’ll receive a project invite email with the option to set up a free account in seconds.
sharing-ios-sharing.jpg
If your iOS device is using version iOS 13 or above, you can also share a project through the project's context menu.
  1. Tap to open the project you want to share.
  2. Tap thethree_dots.png three dots icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Select Sharing. A list of all current project collaborators will appear.
  4. Tap the person icon in the top-right corner again to add collaborators.
  5. Type in the name of the person you want to share with. If it’s someone you’ve never shared a project with before, you’ll need to add the email associated with their Todoist account. If they don’t have a Todoist account, just type in their email address. They’ll receive a project invite email with the option to set up a free account in seconds.
sharing-android-sharing.jpg

Everyone you share a project with will have full access to all of the information including tasks, comments, and uploaded files. They’ll be able to add new tasks, assign tasks, complete tasks, add comments, and upload new files. You can even share projects with people who don’t have a Todoist account yet.

Free users can share any projects with up to 5 people (they can be a different 5 people in each project). Pro users can share projects with up to 25 people, and Business users can share with up to 50 people.

Assigning an existing task

  1. In any shared project, click the assign_web.svg assign icon to the right of the task name.
  2. Select the person's name from the drop-down menu.
  1. In any shared project, tap on the task to open the task view.
  2. Tap the assign_ios.svg assign icon.
  3. From the pop-up menu, select the person's name.
  1. In any shared project, tap on the task to open the task view.
  2. Tap the assign_ios.svg assign icon.
  3. From the pop-up menu, select the person's name.
If your iOS device is using version iOS 13 or above, you can also assign a task through its context menu.

While creating a task

  1. Open any shared project and click + Add task.
  2. Write out the task name and type the + symbol followed by their name.
  3. Select the person's name from the drop-down menu.
If you create a task from an unshared project – or in the Today, Upcoming, or any filtered view – you'll need to specify a shared project first by typing # into the task field and selecting the project's name. e.g.,"#Design +James".
  1. Open any shared project and tap on the + button.
  2. Write out the task name and type + symbol followed by their name.
  3. Select the person's name from the drop-down menu.

If you create a task from an unshared project – or in the Today, Upcoming, or any filtered view – you'll need to specify a shared project first by typing # into the task field and selecting the project's name. e.g.,"#Design +James".

  1. Open any shared project and tap on the + button.
  2. Write out the task name and type + symbol followed by their name.
  3. Select the person's name from the drop-down menu.

If you create a task from an unshared project – or in the Today, Upcoming, or any filtered view – you'll need to specify a shared project first by typing # into the task field and selecting the project's name. e.g.,"#Design +James".

How to remove someone from a shared project

  1. Right-click on the project you want to unshare.
  2. Select Share project from the menu.
  3. Hover over a user's name you want to remove.
  4. Click the trash can icon next to their name. 
  • Tap to open the project you want to share.
  • Tap thethree_dots.png three dots icon in the top-right corner.
  • Select Sharing. A list of all current project collaborators will appear.
  • Tap thethree_dots.png three dots icon next to the user's name.
  • Tap Delete.
  • Tap OK.
  1. Tap to open the project.
  2. Tap thethree_dots.png three dots icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Select Share Project. A list of all current project collaborators will appear.
  4. Tap the remove person icon to remove the collaborator.
  5. Tap Remove collaborator.

FAQ

If I archive a shared project, will the project also be archived in my collaborators' accounts?

No. When you archive a project, it'll only become archived for your account.

Can I share a parent project with all its sub-projects?

Unfortunately, it’s not possible to share a project plus all of its sub-projects at the same time. Sorry! You can instead share each project individually.

I have a Todoist Business account and I want to limit project sharing with users that are not part of my team. Is this possible?

Yes. If you're the admin of the Business team, you can go to  the sharing tab  in the admin panel where you can manage if your team members can share projects outside of your Business team and if people outside of your Business team can join your projects.