Loading the new Help Center

Collaborate with friends and family in Todoist

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Need somewhere to plan a big party with a friend, share a grocery list with your spouse, or assign chores to your kids? Try sharing your project with them!

Are you collaborating with colleagues in Todoist? Create a workspace, and collaborate with your team.

Share your project

Everyone you share your project with will have full access to all the information, like tasks, comments, and file attachments. They can add new tasks, assign tasks, complete tasks, add comments, and upload new files to the project.

  1. Right-click the project and select Share.
  2. Type the name or email address of the person you want to share with. If the person you're inviting doesn't have a Todoist account, they’ll receive a project invite email with the option to sign up for a free account.
  3. Click Invite to send the invitation(s).
  1. Tap Browse in the navigation bar.
  2. Select a project.
  3. Tap the three dots icon in the top-right.
  4. Tap Share. A list of project collaborators will appear. If the project isn't shared, you'll see two options:
    • Share Link lets you copy an invitation link for someone to join the project.
    • + Invite Members lets you invite someone to your project by adding their name or email address.

When you tap + Invite Members, there are two options:

  • Enter the collaborator's name or email address in the To: field. Then, tap their email address to confirm. They'll always have the Can Edit permission.
  • Tap the red plus icon to invite a collaborator from your Contacts list.
You can also share your project through the project's context menu.
  1. Tap to open the project you want to share.
  2. Tap the share icon. A list of project collaborators will appear.
  3. Tap the person icon in the top-right corner again to add collaborators.
  4. Enter the name or email address of the person to share the project with. If the person you're inviting doesn't have a Todoist account, they’ll receive a project invite email with the option to set up a free account.
You can also share your project through the project's context menu.

Share a parent project

If you share a parent project with someone, they won't automatically have access to its sub-projects. You will instead need to invite them to each sub-project.

Assign a task

Delegate tasks to the right people by assigning them to the project members, including yourself.

Assign an existing task

In any shared project, click the assign icon next to the task. Then, select the person's name from the assignee menu.

Assign a new task

  1. Open any shared project and click + Add task.
  2. Type the task name followed by the plus symbol.
  3. Select the person's name from the assignee menu.
You can only assign a single person to a task, but you can select and assign multiple tasks to someone.

Assign an existing task

  1. In any shared project, tap the task to open the task view.
  2. Tap the assign icon.
  3. Select the person's name from the menu.

Assign a new task

  1. Open any shared project and tap on the + button.
  2. Write out the task name and type + symbol followed by their name.
  3. Select the person's name from the drop-down menu.
You can also assign a task through the context menu.

Remove someone from your shared project

  1. Right-click the project.
  2. Select Share from the menu.
  3. Hover over a user's name you want to remove.
  4. Click the trash can icon next to their name.
  1. Tap Browse at the bottom-right.
  2. Select a project.
  3. Tap the three dots icon at the top-right.
  4. Tap Share. A list of project collaborators will appear.
  5. Tap the trash can icon to remove the collaborator.
  6. Tap Remove collaborator to confirm.
  1. Tap to open the project.
  2. Tap the share icon. A list of all project collaborators will appear.
  3. Tap the three dots icon next to the user's name.
  4. Tap Delete.
  5. Tap OK.

Pay for your family or friends from one Todoist account

The easiest way to upgrade Todoist for your family or friends is to create and invite everyone to a Todoist team. Then, upgrade your team to the Business plan.

When you upgrade to the Business plan, you become an admin and will be billed for all its members. All team members will receive Todoist Pro as part of the Business plan, which means they'll have access to paid features, like custom reminders, calendar layout, backups, and more.  

Get in touch

If you're having trouble collaborating with friends and family in Todoist, get in touch with us. We – Dermot, Marija, Evert, and our 14 other teammates – review all feedback as we continue to make Todoist even better.