Loading the new Help Center

Share a personal project

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Need somewhere to plan a big party with a friend, share a grocery list with your spouse, or assign chores to your kids? Try sharing a project with them!

Are you collaborating with colleagues across several projects? If so, consider creating a team!

Share a project

Everyone you share a project with will have full access to all of the information, like tasks, comments, and uploaded files. They can add new tasks, assign tasks, complete tasks, add comments, and upload new files to the project.

  1. Right-click the project and select Share.
  2. Type in the name or email address of the person you want to share with. If the person you're inviting doesn't have a Todoist account, they’ll receive a project invite email with the option to set up a free account.
  3. Click Invite to send the invitation(s).
  1. Open the project and tap the three dots icon in the top-right.
  2. Tap Share. A list of project collaborators will appear. If the project isn't shared, you'll see two options:
    • Share Link lets you copy an invitation link for someone to join the project.
    • + Invite Members lets you invite someone to your project by adding their name or email address.

When you tap + Invite Members, there are two options:

  • Enter the collaborator's name or email address in the To: field. Then, tap their email address to confirm. They'll always have the Can Edit permission.
  • Tap the red plus icon to invite a collaborator from your Contacts list.

You can also share a project through the project's context menu.

  1. Tap to open the project you want to share.
  2. Tap the share icon. A list of project collaborators will appear.
  3. Tap the person icon in the top-right corner again to add collaborators.
  4. Enter the name or email address of the person to share the project with. If the person you're inviting doesn't have a Todoist account, they’ll receive a project invite email with the option to set up a free account.

Share a parent project

If you share a parent project with someone, they won't automatically have access to its sub-projects. You will instead need to invite them to each sub-project.

Assign a task

Assign an existing task

  1. In any shared project, click the assign icon to the right of the task name.
  2. Select the person's name from the drop-down menu.
  1. In any shared project, tap on the task to open the task view.
  2. Tap the assign icon.
  3. From the pop-up menu, select the person's name.

If you are using the iOS app, you can also assign a task through the context menu.

You can assign multiple tasks at once.

Assign a new task

  1. Open any shared project and click + Add task.
  2. Write out the task name and type the + symbol followed by their name.
  3. Select the person's name from the drop-down menu.
  1. Open any shared project and tap on the + button.
  2. Write out the task name and type + symbol followed by their name.
  3. Select the person's name from the drop-down menu.
Did you know you can set a reminder for someone else? Here is how!

Remove someone from a shared project

  1. Right-click the project.
  2. Select Share from the menu.
  3. Hover over a user's name you want to remove.
  4. Click the trash can icon next to their name.
  1. Tap to open the project.
  2. Tap the three dots icon in the top-right side.
  3. Tap Share. A list of project collaborators will appear.
  4. Tap the remove person icon to remove the collaborator.
  5. Tap Remove collaborator.
  1. Tap to open the project.
  2. Tap the share icon. A list of all project collaborators will appear.
  3. Tap the three dots icon next to the user's name.
  4. Tap Delete.
  5. Tap OK.

FAQ

Can I assign the same task to multiple people?

No. This article explains why.

Can I assign a task to myself?

Yes, but only in a shared project. 

I can't find the person I want to assign a task to in the assignee list. What should I do?

Please note that you'll need to share the project with that person before you assign them a task. If you've not already shared the project, the person will not show up on your assignee list.