Delete a label

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Every now and then you may come across a label on your list that you no longer need. Simply delete it. Here's how:

  1. Click the web_three-dots.svg three dots icon to the right of a label.
  2. Select Delete label.
  3. Click Delete to confirm.
  1. Tap on a label in the label list.
  2. At the top right, tap the three-dots_android.svg three dots icon.
  3. Select Edit label.
  4. At the top right, tap the three-dots_android.svg three dots icon.
  5. Select Delete.
  6. Tap Delete to confirm.
  1. Tap on a label in the label list.
  2. In the top right, tap the three-dots_ios.svg three dots icon.
  3. Select Edit Label.
  4. Select Delete Label
  5. Tap Delete Label to confirm.
  1. Click the win10_three-dots.svg three dots icon to the right of a label.
  2. Select Edit.
  3. Click Confirm.
Learn more about labels.

FAQ

Q: Will deleted labels still show up on completed tasks?

A: Yes, both personal and shared labels that have been deleted will still appear on completed tasks. Whenever you uncomplete a task with a label that’s been deleted, a new label will be created and added to your Shared label list, even if it was originally a personal label. This label will the name it had when the task was completed.

Q: What happens when I delete a personal label?

A: When you delete a personal label it will be removed from your personal label list, the shared label list of your collaborators and it will also be removed from and all active tasks.

Q: What happens when I delete a shared label?

A: When deleting a shared label, it’s automatically removed from everyone’s shared label list and all active tasks. If the label was part of anyone’s personal label list, they will still have access to it and it will still show up on tasks that have the label in their private projects.