Delete a task

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

When you want to remove a task from your task list without completing it, you can delete it. Here’s how:

  1. Right-click on the task you want to delete from Todoist.
  2. Select Delete task from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click Delete to confirm.
  1. Tap the task you want to delete from Todoist.
  2. Tap the three dots icon and select Delete from the drop-down menu.
  3. Tap Yes from the dialog.
    1. Tap the task you want to delete from Todoist.
    2. Tap the three dots icon.
    3. Tap Delete Task.
    4. Tap the Delete task confirmation.
If your iOS device is using version iOS 13 or above, you can also delete a task through its context menu.

FAQ

Q: Can I recover a deleted task?

A: No, it's not possible to undo the deletion of a task. However, you can import a copy of the task using a backup.