Loading the new Help Center

Change your notifications settings

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Always stay up-to-date by receiving notifications from your shared projects. Whether it's someone adding a comment, assigning a task, completing a task, or joining/leaving the project.

You can view all of your notificationsboth read and unreadin the Notifications tab, but if you would like to check all your unread notifications, you can open the Unread tab.

If you want to mark all your unread notifications as read, simply click or tap the checkmark icon.

You can customize which events you’ll be notified about and whether you want to receive them by email or push notification in your account settings.

Types of sharing notifications

There are several types of actions that people can take in a shared project. You can decide which ones you want to be notified about:

  • Comments for you: When someone has chosen to notify you about a task comment.
  • Tasks assigned to you: When someone has assigned you a task.
  • Tasks completed: When a task that you’ve either created or assigned is completed.
  • Tasks uncompleted: When a task that you’ve either created or assigned is uncompleted.
  • Collaborator joining project: When someone accepts your invitation to join a project.
  • Collaborator declining projects: When someone declines your invitation to join a project.
  • Collaborator leaving project: When someone leaves a project that you’re a part of.
  • Collaborator being removed from project: When someone removes another member from a project.

Types of team workspace notifications

If you use teams, there are a few notifications you can enable in your settings:

  • Workspace invite accepted: When someone accepts an invitation to join a team workspace.
  • Workspace invite declined: When someone declines an invitation to join a team workspace.
  • Removed from workspace: When someone is removed from a team workspace.
  • Workspace deleted: When a team workspace is deleted.

Manage your notifications settings

  1. Click your avatar in the top-left.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Notifications. Now you can:
    • Toggle Desktop and web notifications to receive notifications on the web.
    • Manage which notifications you’ll receive from shared projects in the Project notifications section.
    • Select to receive or not receive either email or push notifications for each action taken by a teammate in a shared project.
  1. Tap on Browse in the bottom-right.
  2. Tap the gear icon in the top-right.
  3. Tap Notifications.
  4. You can enable the morning task overview notification by tapping Morning overview. This notification is sent once a day and informs you of how many tasks you have yet to complete that day.
    • Toggle on Morning overview to enable this notification.
    • Use Send notification at… to select the time you want to receive this notification.
  5. If you'd like to review what's left to complete at the end of the day, you can enable an evening task review by tapping Evening review.
    • Toggle on Evening review to enable this notification.
    • Use Send notification at… to select the time you want to receive this notification.
  6. To turn on the onboarding assistant for help with using Todoist, tap the toggle next to Onboarding assistant.
  7. To turn on or turn off notifications from shared projects, tap Project Notifications. Select whether you want to receive or not receive either email or push notifications for each action taken by a teammate in a shared project.
  8. (If applicable) You can turn on or off notifications related to your Todoist Business account by tapping Todoist Business. You can turn email and push notifications on or off for each option in the same way as you do for shared notifications.
  9. To change which emails you receive from Todoist, tap Subscribed emails. Select which emails you'd like to receive or not receive by tapping the toggles.
  1. Tap on Browse in the bottom-right.
  2. Tap the gear icon in the top-right.
  3. Select Notifications.
  4. Tap Morning overview.
  5. Turn on or turn off Morning task overview. If it's turned on, this notification is sent once a day and informs you of how many tasks to complete that day.

    Tap Send notification at... and select the hour when Todoist will send this notification.

  6. Tap Evening review.
  7. Turn on or turn off Evening task review. If it's turned on, this notification is sent once a day and informs you of what's left to complete.

    Tap Send notification at… to select the time you want to receive this notification.

  8. To turn help with using Todoist on or off, tap the toggle next to Onboarding assistant.
  9. To turn on or turn off notifications from shared projects, tap Project notifications. Select whether you want to receive or not receive email or push notifications for each action taken by a teammate in a shared project.
  10. (If applicable) You can turn on or off notifications related to your Todoist Business account by tapping Todoist Business. You can turn email and push notifications on or off for each option in the same way as you do for shared notifications.
  11. To change which emails you receive from Todoist, tap Subscribed emails. Select which emails you'd like to receive or not receive by (un)checking the boxes.
  12. To get more control over which notifications you receive, tap Go to primary settings. Here you can customize which types of notifications you'd like to receive and how they appear on your device.
  13.  To change the sound for a notification, simply tap the name of the notification category (like Sharing, for example). You can then change the sound of a notification category, and personalize each category. For example, add the vibration.

Get help

Notifications by text message or SMS isn't an option in Todoist. If this feels valuable to your workflow, use the Todoist share feedback form to submit a feature request.

If you're having issues with notifications, learn how to troubleshoot notification issues.