Add a project, label or filter to favorites

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Separate your highest impact tasks from the everyday noise by adding important projects, labels and filters to your favorites.

HC_-_Favorite_a_project__small_.gif

All Todoist users can add a project to favorites, but only Todoist Premium or Todoist Business users can add a label or filter to favorites.

Here’s how it works:

  1. Right-click the project, label or filter you want to add to your favorites.
  2. Select Add to favorites from the drop-down menu.
  3. Your project, label or filter will show up in your navigation panel:

HC_-_Favorite_a_project__large_.gif

  1. At the top left of Todoist, tap the menu icon.
  2. Choose which item you want to add to your favorites:
    1. To add a project: at the bottom of your project list, tap Manage projects.
    2. To add a label: at the bottom of your label list, tap Manage labels.
    3. To add a filter: at the bottom of your filter list, tap Manage filters.
  3. Tap the heart icon beside the project, label or filter you want to add to favorites.
  4. Your project, label or filter will show up in your navigation panel:

HC_-_Android_-_Favorite_project__small_.png

  1. Swipe right on the name of the project, label or filter you want to add to your favorites.
  2. Tap the heart icon.
  3. Your project, label or filter will show up in your navigation panel:

HC_-_iOS_-_Favorite_project__small_.png

    1. Right-click on the project, label or filter you want to add to your favorites.
    2. Select Add to favorites from the drop-down menu.
    3. Your project, label or filter will show up in your navigation panel:
Win10favourites.gif

Hide a project, label or filter from favorites

You can hide a project, label or filter from favorites whenever you need to.

HC_-_Unfavorite_a_project__large_.gif

  1. Right-click the project, label or filter you want to remove from your favorites.
  2. Select Hide from favorites from the drop-down menu.
  1. At the top left of Todoist, tap the menu icon.
  2. Choose which item you want to remove from your favorites:
    1. To remove a project: at the bottom of your project list, tap Manage projects.
    2. To remove a label: at the bottom of your label list, tap Manage labels.
    3. To remove a filter: at the bottom of your filter list, tap Manage filters.
  3. Tap the red heart beside the project, label or filter you want to hide from favorites. It will turn grey, indicating it is no longer favorited.
  1. Swipe right on the name of the project, label or filter you want to remove from your favorites.
  2. Tap the heart icon.
  1. Right-click on the project, label or filter you want to remove from your favorites.
  2. Select Hide from favorites from the drop-down menu.

FAQ

Q: Can I add individual tasks to my favorites?

A: No, you can only add projects, filters or labels to your favorites.

Q: If I add a favorite on the web, will it show up on my phone? Do favorites sync across all my devices?

A: Yes, your favorites will sync across your devices.

Q: Can I reorder favorites?

A: Yes, but only within each category of projects, labels and filters.

Favorites are listed in the same order as they appear in your projects, labels and filters lists. So if you wanted a project to appear at the top of your favorites, for example, you would simply drag-and-drop (Web, macOS, Windows) or tap and hold and then drag (Android, iOS) the project to the top of your Projects list. It would then move to the top of the projects area in your favorites.

However, you can't change the order that the favorites categories will be listed: projects, labels and then filters.

Q: Will my project, label or filter still be accessible from its original location when I add it to favorites?

A: Yes.

When you add a project, label or filter to favorites, nothing is moved: A new shortcut to your original project, label or filter is simply added to your navigation panel. You can still access the original in the same way you always have.

It’s the same when you hide from favorites: nothing is moved or deleted; only the link in your navigation panel is hidden.