Add or remove people from your team workspace as your company size changes over time. Learn how your team workspace is billed, and what happens to existing task data when someone joins or leaves the workspace.
Invite people to your team workspace
Before jumping in, check if you're an admin of the team. Then, follow these steps to invite people to your team workspace:
Invite people by email
- Log in to your Todoist account on https://todoist.com.
- Click your avatar.
- Select Settings.
- Find the team you want to add users to in the sidebar.
- Click People.
- Click Invite by email.
- Enter the person's email address. If you're inviting more than one person, separate their email addresses with commas.
- Choose whether to add them as a Member or Admin.
- Click Send invites.
- Tap Browse and open the team project.
- Tap the group icon.
- Tap Invite via name or email.
- Enter the person's email address.
- Select the desired team role.
- Tap Done to confirm.
To invite a person through a project:
- Tap Browse and select the team.
- Tap the project.
- Tap the group icon.
- Tap Invite via name or email and enter the person's name or email address.
- Select the desired team role.
- Tap the send icon to confirm.
To invite a person through the team settings:
- Tap Browse and select the team.
- Tap the add person icon.
- Enter the person's email address and tap the plus icon.
- Tap Team role and select the desired role.
- Tap Send invites. To share a link, tap Share invite link.
Invite people with an invite link
- Log in to your Todoist account on https://todoist.com.
- Click your avatar.
- Select Settings.
- Find the team you want to add people to in the sidebar.
- Click People.
- Make sure Enable invite link is toggled on.
- Click Copy link.
You can then send the URL to whomever you want to invite. After they click the link, they’ll have the ability to join your Todoist team.
- Open Todoist for iOS and log in to your account.
- Tap Browse at the bottom-left.
- Tap the team you want to add people to in the sidebar.
- Tap the Add Person icon beside the team name.
- Enter the person's email address.
- Tap Share Invite Link. The Apple share sheet will appear.
- Choose how you'll share the link with the person.
- Open Todoist for Android and log in to your account.
- Tap Browse at the bottom-left.
- Tap the team you want to add people to in the sidebar.
- Tap the Add Person icon beside the team name.
- Enter the person's email address.
- Tap Share Invite Link.
- Choose how you'll share the link with the person.
When they tap the link, they’ll have the ability to join your Todoist team.
Billing for new members
You're billed for each person you add as an admin or member to your team workspace. Guests are free, and aren't included in the invoice.
If you add someone to the team workspace in the middle of a billing cycle, you're charged a prorated amount for the rest of the cycle. Here's how it appears on your monthly and yearly invoices.
Existing Pro subscriptions
On the Business plan, members in team workspaces get access to Todoist Pro features for their personal projects at no extra cost.
If someone you invited already pays for Todoist Pro on the website, their Pro subscription ends when they join the workspace. The unused Pro time becomes credit they can use for a future Pro subscription paid through direct billing.
If they paid for Todoist Pro through an in-app purchase with Apple or Google, their subscription doesn't cancel automatically. They need to cancel it themselves to avoid being charged. Learn more about managing existing Todoist Pro subscriptions.
If they leave the team workspace, their account automatically returns to the Beginner plan.
Remove people from your Todoist team
Make sure you only keep the right people in your Todoist team. First, check if you're an admin. Then, learn how to remove people from the team:
- Log in to your Todoist account on https://todoist.com.
- Click your avatar in the top-left.
- Select Settings.
- Find the team you want to remove people from in the sidebar. Click People under the team name.
- Find the person you want to remove and click their current role to the right of their name.
- Select Remove from team.
Replace people in your Todoist team
If you want to replace someone, remove them first from your Todoist team. Then, invite the new person with their Todoist account email address.
When replacing a team member with someone new, you don't need to manually change the previous team member's email address. Todoist accounts aren't designed to interchange between people, since they contain both personal and work-related tasks.
Billing for removed members
If you decide to remove someone from your Todoist team, or if you want to replace an existing team member with someone else, Todoist automatically checks if there's any remaining time left on their subscription. The value of the remaining time will convert to an account balance for your team workspace.
This balance will then be used to partially or completely cover your next invoice. None of the remaining time on their subscription will go to waste.
When your team size changes, a new invoice is generated for the proration. Invoices aren’t emailed, but team admins can view them anytime in the team’s billing settings.
Task data
If you remove a person from all the team workspace projects, all tasks that were assigned to them will become unassigned, and are still visible to everyone else with access to the project.
If they created task comments, you'll see a generic avatar with that person's initials beside these comments. Existing admins or members in the workspace can't delete these task comments.
Get in touch
If you're having trouble inviting, removing, or replacing people in your Todoist team, get in touch with us.