Todoist Premium plan changes in December 2018

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

On December 1, 2018, we made a handful of changes to Todoist’s plans and pricing. This was the first step in our long-term plan to provide a more simple, value-driven pricing structure to all of our users, no matter which plan they’re on.

Here’s a summary of the changes to Todoist Premium that took effect on December 1, 2018:

Todoist Premium price change

The price for Todoist increased from US$29 to US$36 per year (equivalent to US$3/user/month billed annually).

Customers who upgraded to Todoist Premium prior to December 1st, 2018 will have access to Todoist Premium legacy pricing forever (US$29/year). Customers will only lose access to the legacy pricing if they cancel their Premium subscription.

New Premium project limits

For Premium customers, we increased the limit from 200 to 300 active projects.

Monthly billing for Todoist Premium on iOS and Android

On December 1, 2018, we introduced a monthly subscription option for users subscribing through Apple’s App Store or the Google Play Store. The monthly subscription price for Todoist Premium is US$4/month.

FAQ

Q: Why have you adjusted the pricing?

A: This was our first step in a longer-term plan to make Todoist’s Premium and Business pricing structures much more simple and value-driven. We want to provide greater value to our free users from the moment they sign up, and then scale up access to the more advanced feature set for our Premium and Business users. The execution of this plan will likely take place in several phases throughout 2019.

We plan to roll out new plans and features in several phases throughout 2019, however, we will not make any further price modifications.

Todoist’s pricing structure and Premium plans had not been changed since Todoist launched in 2007 and we believe that this evolution will provide all of our users much more value at what is still a very competitive price.

Q: You advertise the legacy price at US$29 but the legacy price in euro's is 32€. Shouldn't the price be around 25€ based on the real time exchange rate?

A: The difference in price can be explained by the fact that the EUR price includes VAT whereas the USD price does not. In addition, we don’t adjust the international pricing on a daily basis by real time exchange rate but rather on an annual basis. The overall reason for setting the price to 32€ is to keep our prices consistent across platforms and European countries.

Q: In 2015, I paid AU$40 for Premium. Now you advertise the legacy price at AU$45. Why is there an increase?

A: Due to currency fluctuations and inflation, the current legacy price might be higher now compared to previous years. If you currently don’t have an active or auto-renew subscription, you will receive the adjusted legacy price of this year. You will continue to pay this year’s legacy price for any future renewals which will not be subjected to further price increases.

Q: You advertise a monthly price but I can only select an annual subscription. Can I purchase Premium for the legacy price and be billed monthly?

A: No. It’s not possible to purchase Premium for the legacy price and select monthly billing. You will only have the option to be billed monthly if you purchase a Premium subscription for the new price via the App Store or Google Play Store.

Q: My subscription ends in 2019 and will not automatically renew. How much time after my subscription expires do I have to renew and keep my legacy price?

A: If you purchased Premium directly via our site and your subscription expires, you will have 30 days to renew your subscription and keep the legacy price. If you decide to re-subscribe, you will be billed the legacy price for all future renewals.

If you purchased Premium through Apple's App Store, Google Play Store, or Microsoft Store, you will only be able to keep the legacy price if you renew your subscription directly through our site within 30 days. If you renew through Apple's App Store, Google Play Store, or Microsoft Store after your subscription has expired, you will be charged the new price.

Q: My subscription will automatically renew in 2019. Will I be billed the legacy price?

A: Yes. You will automatically be billed the legacy price for all future renewals.

Q: I subscribed to Todoist Premium through the App Store and had to cancel my subscription in order to use the free Premium time that I earned through promo codes/Todoist’s referral program. Will I be billed the increased price on my next invoice when I re-subscribe?

A: If you had to cancel your current Premium subscription to use up your earned Premium time, you will only be able to keep the legacy price when you renew your subscription directly through our site within 30 days after your subscription expires. If you renew through Apple's App Store after your subscription has expired, you will be charged the new price.