Loading the new Help Center

Archive or delete a section

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

When you’ve completed all the tasks in a section, you can archive it to get it out of your way. You can also delete a section whenever you need to.

Archive a section

Archive your section along with all its tasks so you can always view and restore it later.

  1. To the right of a section, click the web_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Archive section.
  3. Click Archive to confirm.
To view or unarchive a section, click on the web_three-dots.svg three dots icon at the top right of the project and select Show completed tasks from the menu. The archived sections will appear greyed out and archived tasks are shown as completed. To unarchive a section, click on the web_three-dots.svg three dots icon to the right of it and select Unarchive section.
  1. To the right of a section, tap the android_three-dots-icon.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Archive section.
  3. Tap Archive to confirm.
To view or unarchive a section, tap on the android_three-dots-icon.svg three dots icon at the top-right of the project, select Show completed tasks from the menu. The archived sections will appear greyed out and archived tasks are shown as completed. To unarchive a section, tap on the android_three-dots-icon.svg three dots icon to the right of it and select Unarchive section.
  1. To the right of a section, tap the ios_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Archive Section.
  3. Tap Archive to confirm.
To view archived sections, tap on the ios_three-dots.svg three dots icon at the top-right of the project, select Show Completed Tasks from the menu. The archived sections will appear greyed out and archived tasks are shown as completed. To unarchive a section, tap on the ios_three-dots.svg three dots icon to the right of it and select Unarchive Section.

Delete a section

Created a section that you don’t need? Simply delete it.

Deleting a section will also delete all its active and completed tasks.
  1. To the right of a section, click the web_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Delete section.
  3. Click Delete to confirm.
  1. To the right of a section, tap the android_three-dots-icon.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Delete section.
  3. Tap Delete to confirm.
  1. To the right of a section, tap the ios_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Delete Section.
  3. Tap Delete to confirm.

FAQ

Can I complete a section?

No, you can only archive a section. To receive karma for any active tasks in the section, make sure to complete the tasks first.

I deleted a section and all its tasks by accident. How do I recover them?

The only way you can recover a deleted section is by importing a backup

Your data is automatically backed up every day that you make changes in Todoist once you have an active Todoist Pro or Todoist Business subscription. Backups are automatically created daily and correspond to the last 21 days.

Can I delete my section without having its active tasks deleted along with it?

No, if you want to delete your section but keep its tasks, you’ll need to move them out of the section. A quick way to do this is to multi-select the tasks and then select which section or project you want to move them to.