Archive or delete a section

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

When you’ve completed all the tasks in a section, you can archive it to get it out of your way. You can also delete a section whenever you need to.

Archive a section

Archive your section along with all its tasks so you can always view and restore it later.

  1. To the right of a section, click the web_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Archive section.
  3. Click Archive to confirm.
  1. To the right of a section, click the win10_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Archive section.
  3. Click Confirm to confirm.
  1. To the right of a section, tap the android_three-dots-icon.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Archive section.
  3. Tap Archive to confirm.
  1. To the right of a section, tap the ios_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Archive Section.
  3. Tap Archive to confirm.

Delete a section

Created a section that you don’t need? Simply delete it.

Deleting a section will also delete all its active and completed tasks.
  1. To the right of a section, click the web_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Delete section.
  3. Click Delete to confirm.
  1. To the right of a section, click the win10_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Delete section.
  3. Click Confirm to confirm.
  1. To the right of a section, tap the android_three-dots-icon.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Delete section.
  3. Tap Delete to confirm.
  1. To the right of a section, tap the ios_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  2. Select Delete Section.
  3. Tap Delete to confirm.

FAQ

Q: Can I complete a section?

A: No, you can only archive a section. To receive karma for any active tasks in the section, make sure to complete the tasks first.

Q: I deleted a section and all its tasks by accident. How do I recover them?

A: The only way you can recover a deleted section is by importing a backup

Your data is automatically backed up every day that you make changes in Todoist once you have an active Todoist Premium or Todoist Business subscription.

Q: Can I delete my section without having its active tasks deleted along with it?

A: No, if you want to delete your section but keep its tasks, you’ll need to move them out of the section. A quick way to do this is to multi-select the tasks and then select which section or project you want to move them to.