What's the difference between personal labels and shared labels?

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Labels let you group similar tasks together and view them in one list – no matter what project they’re in. There are two different types of labels:

  • Personal labels are the labels you use and have created yourself.
  • Shared labels are the labels team members have created and use in shared projects.

iOS___Shared_Labels.png

Learn more about how both Personal and Shared labels work below.

Personal labels

Any label that you’ve created will show up in your personal label list. These labels can have any of the available colors and will stay in your list unless you delete them or remove them from your personal label list. If you no longer want to use a label in private projects, but still want to keep using it on active tasks in shared projects, you can move it to the shared list at any time:

  1. Right-click on a label.
  2. Select Remove from personal labels.
  1. Tap on a label.
  2. At the top right, tap the ios_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  3. Select Edit Label.
  4. Select Move Label to Shared.
  1. At the bottom of your label list, tap Manage labels.
  2. Select which label(s) you want to remove from your personal list.
  3. At the top right, tap the android_three-dots-icon.svg three dots icon.
  4. Select Move to shared.
Labels moved to the Shared list will disappear if there are no active tasks with the label on it.

Shared labels

Any new label created by a collaborator in a shared project that doesn’t have the same label name on your personal label list will show up here. These labels will be gray by default and will only stay in the shared list if there are any active tasks with this label in a shared project. If you and your collaborators no longer need a label in the shared list, simply delete it.

If you want to use a shared label in private projects, you can move it to your personal label list at any time:

  1. Right-click on a label.
  2. Select Move to personal labels.
  1. Tap on a label.
  2. At the top right, tap the ios_three-dots.svg three dots icon.
  3. Select Edit Label.
  4. Select Move Label to Personal Labels.
  1. At the bottom of your label list, tap Manage labels.
  2. Scroll down and tap Shared.
  3. Select which label(s) you want to move to your personal list.
  4. At the top right, tap the android_three-dots-icon.svg three dots icon.
  5. Select Move to personal.
Labels in your personal list can have custom colors and will stay visible when there are no active tasks with the label on it.

FAQ

Q: I’m still seeing labels created by others in my personal list, how come they haven’t been moved to the Shared list?

A: Before the shared labels were introduced, there was no difference between a label created by you or a collaborator. This made it impossible to see if a label should be moved to the shared list retroactively. To remove any labels you don’t want to use in your personal list, simply follow the steps above.

Q: Is everyone in a shared project able to delete or rename a shared label?

A: Yes, every member of the shared project is able to rename or delete a shared label. The changes will apply to all of the active tasks containing that label. 

Q: Is it possible to create specific team labels that can easily be shared with everyone on my team?

A: No, it’s not possible to create team labels. As a workaround, you could create a task in the Team Inbox and add all the labels you want to share to it. Your team members can then make a copy of the labels by moving them to their personal label list by following the instructions above.

Q: Can I set a shared label as my start page?

A: No, this isn’t possible because other collaborators are able to rename or delete this label.

Q: My default start page is currently set to a personal label. What happens when I remove it from my personal labels?

A: Your start page will default to Today instead.

Q: What happens when I delete a personal label? 

A: When you delete a personal label it will be removed from your personal label list, the shared label list of your collaborators and it will also be removed from all active tasks.

Q: What happens when I delete a shared label?

A: When deleting a shared label, it’s automatically removed from everyone’s shared label list and all active tasks. If the label was part of anyone’s personal label list, they will still have access to it and it will still show up on tasks that have the label in their private projects.

Q: Will deleted labels still show up on completed tasks?

A: Yes, both personal and shared labels that have been deleted will still appear on completed tasks. Whenever you uncomplete a task with a label that’s been deleted, a new label will be created and added to your Shared label list, even if it was originally a personal label. This label will have the name it had when the task was completed.

Q: What happens when I rename a personal label?

A: The label updates on all your active tasks. All your completed tasks will still show the old label name though. Whenever you uncomplete a task with a label that’s been renamed, a new label will be created and added to your Shared label list, even if it was originally a personal label. This label will the name it had when the task was completed.

Q: What happens when I rename a shared label?

A: The new renamed label will automatically be applied to all of your active tasks. All completed tasks will still contain the old label name though. Whenever you uncomplete a task with a label that’s been renamed, a new label will be created and added to your Shared label list. This label will the name it had when the task was completed.

Q: Can I rearrange Shared labels?

A: No, only personal labels can be rearranged.

Q: Can I drag and drop labels from the Shared list to my personal labels?

A: No, it’s not possible to drag and drop labels between the personal and shared label lists.