What happens when I remove a Business user?

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

If you decide to remove a team member from your Todoist Business account, or if you want to replace an existing team member with a new user, none of the remaining time on their subscription will go to waste. The remaining time will be credited back to your Business account so it can be used to pay for future invoices. Here’s how it works:

Removing a team member from your Business team

If you remove a user from your Business team, our system will automatically check if there is any remaining time left on their subscription and will convert the value to an account balance for your Business team. This balance will then be used to partially or completely cover your next Business invoice.

Replace an existing team member for a new user

If you want to remove an existing user from your team and replace them with a new user, you can simply remove the user from your Business team and invite a new user to your team. Our system will automatically check if there is any remaining time left on their subscription and will convert the value to an account balance for your Business team. This balance will then be used to partially or completely cover your next Business invoice which will include the subscription of your new team member. 

FAQ

Q: I want to replace an existing team member with a new user. Do I need to manually change the email address of the existing Todoist user?

A: No. Todoist Business is not a seat-based system. Todoist accounts are not designed to be interchanged between users as they most often contain both personal as well as work-related tasks. The new user can instead be added to your team with their personal Todoist account. 

Q: What happens to tasks added by or assigned to a user that's been removed?

A: Tasks added by the user are not affected by the removal of their creator. If you choose to remove the user from all shared projects, all tasks that were assigned to them will now be unassigned.

Q: Our admin no longer works with us. Is there a way to remove them?

A: If they are the only admin, you'll need to add a new one. Please ask the current admin to follow these steps to assign a new admin.

If you're no longer in contact with the current admin, please reach out to our support team so we can manually promote a team member to the admin role for you.

Q: I removed a team member, when will the credits for their remaining time be added to our Business balance?

A: When a user is removed, their remaining Business time will be converted to credit right away.

Q: How can I get an invoice that reflects the credit received for a removed team member?

A: You'll receive an invoice about the change within one month of the removal.