Loading the new Help Center

How to cancel your subscription

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

How to cancel your Pro subscription

In order to cancel your Pro subscription, simply stop your Pro plan from automatically renewing itself. To do this, you need to turn it off based on the payment method you used:

Card payments

Credit card payments made through Todoist will be set to auto-renew by default. Here’s how to turn it off:

  1. Log in to your Todoist account on https://todoist.com.
  2. Click your avatar in the top-right corner and select Settings.
  3. Next, on the left-hand side, select the Subscription tab.
  4. Click the Cancel Plan button and confirm you want to cancel the subscription by clicking Yes, cancel.

PayPal

Please note that PayPal is no longer available as a payment option. Any past payments made using PayPal will not auto-renew.

App Store

App Store subscriptions auto-renew by default, so you need to manually cancel them. You can find the option to cancel the auto-renew by viewing your Apple ID in iTunes or the App Store and then selecting the “Subscriptions” option.

Google Play

Google Play subscriptions may or may not auto-renew depending on many factors. Please check your Google Play account and verify if there is a recurring Todoist subscription there. If there is, remove it directly.

Microsoft Store

Todoist Pro payments made through the Microsoft Store won’t auto-renew.

Pro subscription FAQ

If I cancel my Pro subscription, will I be returned to the free plan right away?

No, you’ll be able to use your Todoist Pro until it expires. You will then be returned to the free plan automatically.

I’ve canceled my subscription within 30 days, how can I get a refund?

Please refer to our refunds article for steps on how to get your payment refunded depending on your platform.

Can I change my billing cycle? 

If you upgraded via our website, the App Store, the Mac App Store or the Google Play, you can change your billing cycle using these instructions.

What happens to my data if I downgrade to the free plan?

You will still have access to all your data when downgrading to the free plan.

How to cancel your Business subscription

If you no longer need your Todoist Business team, you can cancel your subscription by deleting your team.

When you cancel your Todoist Business account, your Team Inbox will be deleted and can’t be restored. If you don’t want to lose those tasks, move them from the Team Inbox to a different project before canceling your Business subscription.

Only admins can cancel a Todoist Business account.

Here’s how to cancel your subscription:

  1. Log in to your Todoist account on https://todoist.com.
  2. Click your avatar in the top-right corner and select Business admin.
  3. Next, on the left-hand side, select the Account & Billing tab.
  4. Click on Cancel Todoist Business and select the reason for your cancellation, enter your Todoist password and click Cancel Todoist Business.

If you're using your Google, Facebook or Apple account to sign in, you'll need to add a password to your Todoist account first by going to your Settings and selecting Account.

If you don’t want to delete your team right away, but you want to prevent the subscription from auto-renewing, remove your credit card details in the Account & Billing tab. Learn more.

Business subscription FAQ

I still had subscription time and/or balance remaining before deleting my Business team, but I’ve been downgraded to the Free plan instead of the Pro plan. What should I do?

Please contact our Customer Experience team so they can look into this and apply the Pro time accordingly.

I’ve canceled my Business subscription, will I receive a refund?

If you’ve canceled your Business subscription within 30 days of purchase, please contact our Customer Experience team to receive a refund.

Can I keep using Todoist after I cancel my Business subscription?

Absolutely! Your Team Inbox and its tasks will be deleted, but all other projects and tasks will still be there.

I’m part of a Business team, but I want to leave and keep all my projects and tasks. How can I do this?

Please follow the instructions below to leave a Business team. Once you've left the team, you’ll still be able to use your Todoist account with all your projects and tasks.

  1. Log in to your Todoist account in a browser.
  2. Click your avatar in the top-right corner.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Select Subscription in the left-hand menu.
  5. Select Leave Team.

I'm using Google/Facebook/Apple account to sign in. How can I cancel the subscription? 

If you're using your Google, Facebook or Apple account to sign in, you'll need to add a password to your Todoist account first by going to your Settings and selecting Account.