Loading the new Help Center

Manage your team plan and billing details

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Each team has its own billing, meaning that if you want to have several teams that all have Business features, you would need to upgrade each team to a Business plan.

Furthermore, each team is billed based on the number of users in each billing cycle.

Payment methods

To pay for a team, use any of the supported payment cards

  • American Express
  • China UnionPay (CUP)
  • Discover & Diners Club
  • eftpos Australia
  • Japan Credit Bureau (JCB)
  • Mastercard
  • Visa

Purchase orders aren't supported at the moment.

Permissions

The team Admin is the only person who can manage team billing, and who can add or remove members to and from the team between billing cycles.

Here’s how this will be handled in the invoice:

Adding members

If you’re on monthly billing and you’re adding new members to your team mid-billing cycle, your next monthly invoice will bill you for their subscription for the month ahead as well as the charges based on the time they belonged to the team during the previous month. 

If you’re on yearly billing and you’re adding new members to your team mid-billing cycle, you’ll receive an invoice during the following month based on your original purchase date. Your invoice will include the amount due for each new member for the remainder of their yearly subscription, as well as charges based on the amount the time they belonged to the team during the previous yearly billing period. 

Removing members 

If you remove one of your team members, you’ll only be charged for the time they belonged to the team. The equivalent of the time the removed member was no longer part of the team will be credited back to you and will be immediately deducted from the amount due on your next monthly or yearly invoice. 

Access billing for a team

If you're a team Admin, here's how you can access billing for your team:

  1. Log in to your Todoist account at https://todoist.com.
  2. Click your avatar in the top-left.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. Find the team to view billing for in the left-hand sidebar.
  5. Click Billing under the team name.
  6. Click Manage billing.

Access old invoices

  1. Log in to the Todoist account at https://todoist.com.
  2. Click your avatar in the top-left.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. Find the team to view and access old invoices for in the left-hand sidebar.
  5. Click Billing under the team name.
  6. Click View billing history.
If you subscribed to Todoist Business before March 2022, you can access any invoice prior to this date in the Subscription settings page. 

Upgrade a team to Business

If you’re using Todoist for iOS or Todoist for Android, switch to Todoist in a web browser to upgrade or downgrade a team.

When you upgrade a team to the Business plan, each team member will automatically have access to Pro features in their personal projects.

To upgrade a team:

  1. Log in to the Todoist account at https://todoist.com.
  2. Open team settings.
  3. Find the team to upgrade in the left-hand sidebar.
  4. Click Billing.
  5. Click Upgrade.

Receipts aren't automatically sent to the team Admin when the payment is successful. Access receipts any time through the team billing settings.

Downgrade a team

  1. Log in to the Todoist account at https://todoist.com.
  2. Click your avatar in the top-left.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. Find the team to downgrade in the left-hand sidebar.
  5. Click Billing under the team name.
  6. Click Manage billing.
  7. Select Cancel plan.

FAQ

Can I transfer credit between teams?

No, there is no way to transfer credit between teams.

I changed my billing information or VAT ID. Will these automatically be applied to my previous invoices?

No, if you’ve changed your billing address or VAT ID, you won’t be able to retroactively edit past invoices. If you need an updated invoice, get in touch with us.

How do refunds work?

To receive a refund on a Pro or Business plan payment, you'll need to request the refund within 30 days of subscribing and be on yearly billing, unless otherwise provided by applicable law. Monthly subscriptions aren’t eligible for refunds. Learn more in this article.

What happens if I have Pro and then upgrade to Business?

If you have paid for Pro and upgrade to Business before using your full Pro time, your remaining Pro time will be added as credit in our system. However, please note that this credit can only be used to pay for Pro subscriptions.

If you upgrade to Business within 30 days of having subscribed to Pro, you may be eligible for a full refund. Learn more in this article.