Loading the new Help Center

Team roles and access

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

User roles help you manage what people in your team have access to. There are three user roles available in a team: Admin, Member (Business plan only), and Guest.

Admin

When you create a team, you're automatically set as the admin. You can also upgrade team members to admins. On the free team plan, everyone invited to the team is set as an admin by default, you can only change this by upgrading to Business.

As an admin, you'll have full access and control over the team, and can:

  • ✅ Browse, preview, and join any visible projects in the team
  • ✅ Create new projects in the team
  • ✅ Invite or remove people from the team
  • ✅ Update roles for people in the team
  • ✅ Manage guests
  • ✅ Update the team-wide settings
  • ✅ Delete the team permanently
  • ✅ Manage team billing
  • ✅ Have ownership over the data added to the team workspace

Member

As a member, you can collaborate with the whole team, but your access to high-level settings is limited:

  • ✅ Browse, preview, and join any visible projects in the team
  • ✅ Create new projects in the team
  • ✅ Invite people to the team
  • ❌ Remove people from the team
  • ❌ Update roles for other people in the team
  • ❌ Manage guests
  • ❌ Update the team-wide settings
  • ❌ Delete the team permanently
  • ❌ Manage team billing
  • ❌ Have ownership over the data added to the team workspace

The member role is only available on the Business plan. On the free team plan, anyone invited to the team is automatically set as an admin.

Guest

A guest is a person outside the team who's invited to a specific project. Guests are free of charge and won’t appear on the invoice.

As a guest, you'll only have access to the projects you're invited to, and can't do any of the following:

  • ❌ Browse, preview, and join any visible projects in the team
  • ❌ Create new projects in the team
  • ❌ Invite or remove people from the team
  • ❌ Update roles for other people in the team
  • ❌ Manage other guests
  • ❌ Update the team-wide settings
  • ❌ Delete the team permanently
  • ❌ Manage team billing
  • ❌ Have ownership over the data added to the team workspace

Invite a guest to a project

  1. Select a project that you want to share with a guest in your team.
  2. Click the Share icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Type the person’s email address.
  4. Click the role menu and select Guest.
  5. Click Invite.
As an admin, you can manage guest access from the Members settings. You can upgrade a guest to a member, or remove them from projects in your team.

Admin-exclusive features

As an admin, you have access to the following features: 

Remove someone from the team

  1. In the sidebar, click the team.
  2. Click Members in the top-right.
  3. Find the person you wish to remove and click on their role (either Admin, Member or Guest) to the right of their name.
  4. Click Remove from team.

Change a role

  1. In the sidebar, click the team.
  2. Select Members in the top-right. A list of team members will appear. 
  3. Click the role menu and select the appropriate role (Member or Admin).

The member role can't be changed to the guest role as members are part of the whole team and guests have access only to specific projects. To achieve that, remove a member from the team first (Members settings) to stop their access to your team, then invite them to specific projects as a guest. 

Turn off guest access

Guest access is turned on by default, but admins can turn it off:

  1. In the sidebar, click the team.
  2. Click Settings in the top-right.
  3. Under Security, turn on Disable guests

Get in touch

If you're having issues with roles or permissions in the team, get in touch with us. We - Dermot, Galina, Marco, or another one of our 14 teammates - look forward to lending a hand!