Loading the new Help Center

Introduction to teams

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Think of a team as a place where you can house and organize information.

Separate personal tasks from shared tasks, and give team members a shared space to collaborate.

Beginner and Pro customers can create one free team. With an upgrade to the team Business plan, you can create an additional free team. You’ll always be able to join any team you’re invited to.

It is not currently possible to move projects between teams. We are currently working on implementing this. In the meantime, you can export a project and import it into another team.

Set up a new team

  1. Log in to your Todoist account on https://todoist.com.
  2. Scroll to the bottom in the left-hand menu.
  3. Click Add a team.
  4. Enter a team name.
  5. Enter your teammates' email addresses, if needed.
  6. Click Add a team.

At the moment the option to create a team isn't available on Todoist for iOS or Android.

Invite people to a team

Invite people to the team through email or by sharing an invite link:

  1. Log in to the Todoist account at https://todoist.com.
  2. Click the team in the sidebar.
  3. Click Invite members at the top-right.
  4. Use one of these two available options:
  • Invite by link: Copy an invite link and share with anyone to invite them to your team. They will be added as a member (on the Business plan) or as an admin (on the free team plan).
  • Invite by email: Enter the person's email address, select their team role, and click Send invites. They will receive an email to join your team.

Invite Users ios.png

Invite people to the team through email:

  1. Tap Browse and open the team project.
  2. Tap the group icon.
  3. Tap Invite via name or email and enter the person's email address.
  4. Select the desired team role.
  5. Tap Done to confirm.

Invite Users.png

Invite people to the team through email:

  1. Tap Browse and open the team project.
  2. Tap the group icon.
  3. Tap Invite via name or email and enter the person's email address.
  4. Select the desired team role.
  5. Tap Done to confirm.

When inviting someone to the team, they will automatically be added as members (on the Business plan) or as admins (on the free team plan). Learn more about each role here.

Remove someone from a team

  1. Log in to your Todoist account on https://todoist.com.
  2. Open the team you would like to remove someone from.
  3. Click the Members icon in the top-right corner.
  4. Find the person you wish to remove and click on their role (either Admin, Member or Guest) to the right of their name.
  5. Select Remove from team.
Admins only can remove someone from a team.

Leave a team

  1. Log in to your Todoist account on https://todoist.com.
  2. Click the team in the sidebar.
  3. Click the Settings icon in the top-right.
  4. Click Leave team.

Delete a team

When you delete a team, it will immediately and permanently delete all your team data, including all projects, tasks, comments, and files. This cannot be undone. This action affects you and everyone else in the team.
  1. Log in to your Todoist account on https://todoist.com.
  2. Click the team you'd like to delete.
  3. Click Settings in the top-right.
  4. Click Delete team.

Admins only can delete a team.

Get help

If there are any issues with creating or managing a team, get in touch with us.